Home » All My Posts » Ramadan Reflections 2: Harnessing the desire to consume

Ramadan Reflections 2: Harnessing the desire to consume

From the translation of Amin Ahsan Islahi’s Tazkiya-e-Nafs:

[…] people tend to make Ramadan a month of festivities and fun time. They think that they are not answerable for the extravagance made in this month. They relish everything they eat. The result is that instead of trying to discipline themselves they end up pampering themselves. Throughout their fasts they keep dreaming about the delicious things they will eat once the fast is over. The result is that they end up learning nothing from their fasts.

To prevent such a thing from happening, it is necessary that a person should eat just enough to keep him working and not make eating the sole object of his life. Whatever is obtainable without too much of an effort should be eaten with thankfulness to the Almighty. Whatever is presented by the family should be consumed without fuss even if it is not tempting. The rich instead of overindulging themselves should give more to the needy and the poor. This is something which increases the blessings of fasting and has been commended by the Prophet (sws).

More about philosophy of fasting can be read here.

Sustained culture of consumption has brought about an unleashed spending boosterism which is one of the primary culprits responsible for recent price hike and hoarding of necessary commodities (like wheat and rice) in the month of Ramadan.

One truly wonders how religion miserably fails each year in the land of the ‘pure’.

10 thoughts on “Ramadan Reflections 2: Harnessing the desire to consume

  1. At least this shows Pakistan is part of the postmodern consumer culture that Muslims are supposedly so keen to destroy🙂

    I pray Ramadan is going well otherwise. God accept your good deeds.

  2. This is one of the most accurate observation that you always point out🙂 Hajj was no doubt a consuming extravaganza that I had never witnessed before. What can I say as I too, like most of us, find it hard to strike balance. I spent so many Riyals on books (prints that are not available here) which could have been spent in charity.

    I tried and took notes but something stopped me from describing my experiences of Hajj.

    Ramadan is otherwise going fine. Trying to overcome at least few of my innumerable weaknesses. I just realized after so many Ramadans of my life that any one of those in the past could have been the last one of my life.

    Remember me in your prayers and you are always in mine.

    wassalam

  3. Good observations
    The way worship has been turned into rituals and consumerist events is sad..

    The spirit of these rituals is perhaps more important than the act of worship..

  4. Salaam,

    So true!

    This year my husband & I kept meals simple yet nourishing (primarily soups and liquids). We benefited greatly from the increased time we had for contemplation and the healthier impact of that diet on our fasting bodies.

    I hope your Eid was lovely!

    Warmly,
    Baraka

  5. Pingback: Ramadan Reflections 2: Harnessing the desire to consume | Tea Break

  6. Salam,
    I am currentl doing my PhD on Muslim consumers’ ethical values. I think I will benefit a lot from reading your thougts. JazakAllah khair.

  7. Pingback: Ramadan Reflections 2: Harnessing the desire to consume | Tea Break

Leave a Reply

