Home » All My Posts » China (I): Arrival

China (I): Arrival

Just landed in Nanjing via connected flight through Beijing. Being one of the ancient capitals of China, Nanjing (currently the capital of Jiangsu province) is a historically rich city . The big banner on Beijing airport reads ‘The Software City of China’ was enough to insinuate that Nanjing has special technological importance In Chinese Republic. Later I came to know that Nanjing is considered a sub-provincial city with slightly less economic autonomy than a province.

An hour trip from airport to Hotel was our first impression of Chinese suburban environment. It was simplistically beautiful. Albeit hating it, I was forced to draw comparisons with Pakistan and where we failed and China magnificently managed to succeed. Entering the city reminded me so much of the Karachi. If you close your eyes for a moment and open them instantly you would probably believe yourself to be roaming around Sharah-e-Faisal. But of course a cleaner and slightly broader Sharah-e-Faisal. The cyclists, pedestrians and electric motor scooter drivers are clearly seen to be accommodated as a major traffic entity.

We are staying in Jinling hotel and our hosts took us to a nearby Indian restaurant for lunch. The food was good; far better than the Asian restaurants in Sweden which is the only place I have ever been in Europe. The dinner at KFC triggered the well-beaten discussion about the choices for eating meat of the animal which is not slaughtered in a legitimately religious way. I don’t hate anything more than this; yet, almost inadvertently, my choice came about as if I was trying to wear my religiosity on my face. Except K, rest of them followed my suit as if I am the spiritual torch bearer.

Well, in any case, I literally wear it on my face. This is similar in many ways with K , who instead wears his heart on his face. He too made his choice and made it loud and clear. I pity the rest of them. Poor guys. They are so much human. K predicts that they’ll fall and fall soon.

One thought on “China (I): Arrival

Leave a Reply

